Mae’s Tarts

My grandma makes a great fruit tart…she ranks up there with the best of ’em.  Tart-making is a baking tradition that has been passed down for generations in many Cajun families.  It is an important piece of maintaining our unique cooking culture and is usually carried down amongst the women in the family. For every family gathering that I can remember attending, my grandmother has made an assortment of different flavored tarts…and she almost always remembers who likes what flavor.   Here is a small photo/video glimpse into the baking-world of Mae Rose Gaspard.

*Mae’s Tarts*

2 Cups Sugar

2 Sticks Butter

4.5 Cups Flour

4 Eggs

1 tsp. Vanilla

4 tsp. Baking Powder

Roll out 1 Tablespoon of dough.  Fill with fruit.  Seal with fork.  Bake at 350 degrees 15-20 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Mae’s Tarts

  1. Mmmm my favorite are the blackberry tarts. Yum. And the batter (before cooked) is better than cookie dough to me. She used to “hide” the batter from me so I wouldn’t eat it all before they actually became tarts. ha Now I’m hungry! ;o)

Leave a Reply

