The Back Door.

ImageI’ve been playing outside…and now it’s time to get back in the damn house (or at least on the porch) and build up my Cajun repertoire! I’ve been practicing The Back Door, La Porte en Arriere, written by Cajun legend, DL Menard.  A challenge to sing for anyone learning Cajun…this song is fast and full of tongue twisters.  But I’m loving the challenge.  And already looking forward to Black Pot Camp and Festival this year.  It’s been inspiring to be involved with a musical community working to keep tradition alive…and one that is also branching out to create unique styles of Cajun-influenced music.  Some of the bands on my playlist these days are:  BonSoir CatinThe Magnolia Sisters, Jesse Lege Joel Savoy and the Cajun Country Revival Band, The Red Stick Ramblers, The Pine Leaf Boys, Les Bassettes, and Courtboullion.

I spent the summer guiding 4-7 day trips down the Green River in Utah.  These desert canyons are magnificently beautiful and awe-inspiring.  I feel extremely lucky to have had this working opportunity.  And while I have taken a break from my work on this project, I do have plans with continuing to explore and express my passion for Cajun culture and storytelling.  It seems to be a project that is ongoing, collaborative and shape-shifting.  For now, I’m committed to reviewing my footage, posting updates on the intricacies that I witness and sharing the stories that I see as incredibly valuable to keep our culture thriving.  I’m excited for the challenge.  Stay posted.

Leave a Reply

